YOU BEAUTY: Six Tweed Seagulls have been selected to the Queensland under-18 side, to take on NSW.
YOU BEAUTY: Six Tweed Seagulls have been selected to the Queensland under-18 side, to take on NSW. SMP Images

Six Gulls in Qld side

RUGBY LEAGUE: The Tweed Seagulls have made the biggest contribution to this year's under-18 Queensland side, with six players picked in the 18-man squad.

Fresh off their Mal Meninga Cup triumph and being crowned 2019 national champions, the Seagulls club has been rewarded with the recognition of making up a third of this year's side. Xavier Coates, Juwan Compain, Brendan Piakura, Carsil Vaikai, Reece Walsh and Toby Sexton were rewarded for their consistent form with selection in Queensland's squad.

The side will go into a camp on Thursday in Brisbane, before preparing fir their clash with the NSW under-18s on June 5.

Tweed Seagulls under-18 coach Tim Maccan said he was thrilled six of his players had been selected for representative duties.

"This is a great achievement for the boys," he said. "We had six players in the training squad picked earlier in the year and all six have made the final team.

"Their hard work and dedication since November last year has given them this great opportunity to play for Queensland and to play at the highest level for their age."

Maccan told the Tweed Daily News this announcement furthered what has already been a successful year for the club.

"These players are the future of this club and with the Intrust Super Cup team doing very well at the moment the future looks very bright the club," Maccan said."Tweed Seagulls are very proud of them all and wish them all the best."

Queensland under-18


Xavier Coates - Tweed Seagulls


Juwan Compain - Tweed Seagulls


Harrison Graham - Wynnum Manly Seagulls


Reece Hoffman - Wynnum Manly Seagulls


Jack Howarth - Easts Tigers


Joshua James - Norths Devils


Alofiana Khan-Pereira - Burleigh Bears


Trent Loiero - Sunshine Coast Falcons


Jack Martin - Ipswich Jets


Fanitesi Niu - Souths Logan Magpies


Brendan Piakura - Tweed Seagulls


Tristan Powell - Burleigh Bears


Jake Simpkin - Wynnum Manly Seagulls


Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow - Townsville Blackhawks


Carsil Vaikai - Tweed Seagulls


Sam Walker - Ipswich Jets


Reece Walsh - Tweed Seagulls


18th man: Toby Sexton - Tweed Seagulls